There are seven churches in the Val d’Arly that all reflect the fine heritage of this beautiful Savoyard valley, with the churches of St Nicolas la Chapelle and Flumet providing the best examples of quirky baroque style.
You will also find magnificent traditional farmhouses and the ancient stones of fortresses and sacred buildings that recount the valley’s fascinating history.
The local parish church was hard to reach on foot from the hamlet of Chaucisse, especially during the winter. In 1818, thanks to a gift from one of the village’s “expatriates”, a chapel was built that later became the parish church (1828 to the 1960s).
The chapel was established in the 17th century by the Fabry family, under the patronage of Our Lady of the Rosary and then endowed in 1669. The ruins were rebuilt around 1855 by the Dumax-Baudron family and dedicated to the Immaculate Conception.
The museum area, covering an area of 120m², presents: the link between the activity of farmers in the Val d'Arly, the operation of the dairy cooperative and our cheese know-how.
The church at La Giettaz, dedicated to St Pierre-aux-Liens, was rebuilt in the mid-19th century to replace the previous 14th century building. Its bulb-shaped belltower and its furnishings make it a fine example of late baroque Savoyard style.
Saint Nicolas-la-Chapelle church, dedicated to the saint of the same name, dates from the 18th C. The baroque building is notable because of its belltower with double light turret, sculpted porch, murals and canopied main altar – unique in Savoie.
Oratoire de type guérite, crépi blanc au toit à 4 pans couvert de tôle avec croix métal au sommet.
The Roman boundary marker at the Jaillet pass is one of Val d'Arly's rarest ancient remains. Together with the markers of the Petit Croisse Baulet and L'Avenaz, they offer the excuse for a themed walk open to good walkers (7 hrs walking).
The Château des Faucigny, fortified in the 12th century, is now a ruin. However, the building was once of great architectural and historical value and was part of the original development of Flumet.
Passieu chapel was established in the 18th century at the initiative of the parish priest. Blessed in 1747, it was placed under the patronage of St Sébastin, St Antoine and St Guérin. Restored in 1975.
The Maison De Bieu, standing on the edge of the village, is a 15th C fortified house with a distinctive square tower adjacent to the living area. Long-time home to the De Bieu family, it is Flumet’s last maintained and inhabited “château”.
The "château" de Charbonnière is a fortified house dating from at least the 16th C. Burned during the Revolution, the only parts of its former exterior remaining are the large living quarters and one of the four elegant turrets that once adorned it.
Egalement dénommé «Oratoire des Critobles», cet oratoire est couvert par un toit à 4 pans en zinc surmonté d’une croix en fer forgé, avec au centre les lettres P&B : à droite un petit bénitier en pierre.
The church at Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe, which is dedicated to Our Lady of the Nativity, was built between 1876 and 1886 to replace the original 14th century church. Its set of bells and stations of the cross are the building’s main attractions.
Saint Théodule church in Flumet was rebuilt in 1682 after the the original 13th C church was destroyed by fire Particularly noteworthy because of its belltower in the shape of a medieval tower, its unusual design, rich furnishings and baroque altars.
The Petit Croisse-Baulet Roman boundary marker is one of Val d’Arly’s ancient remains. An ideal excuse for good walkers to explore this together with the other two markers of Le Jaillet and L’Avenaz (7 hrs walking).
Cette chapelle, située au col des Aravis, est dédiée à sainte Anne, patronne des voyageurs. Erigée en 1650 elle est reconstruite vers 1765 par le curé de La Giettaz.Bien que située sur la commune de la Clusaz, elle est entretenue par les deux paroisses.
The Oratoire des Clapières is the only wayside cross to have escaped the destruction of the Revolution : it is the oldest in Val d’Arly. Situated on the Route des Chalets, its name comes from “clapier” meaning pile of stone.
The Virgin of Le Châtelard can be reached by an easy, short walk (1 hr – 3.2 km, 700m difference in altitude) from the Col des Aravis. The ramble offer lovely views over the Arondine valley, Aravis and Mont-Blanc mountains.
The Abymes bridge connects Flumet with Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe. Interesting not only for its architecture, the bridge offers stunning views over the river Arly situated 32m below, the T’ienne mill and hanging houses.