Sunday 06 octobre 2019
Each year, the breeders of Val d'Arly participate and parade with their most beautiful Abondance cows at the Competition of the Race where their qualities and specificities are presented. The opportunity for all to meet eachother. Lunch offered at noon.
Oratoire de type guérite, crépi blanc, au toit à 4 pans couvert de tôle et surmonté d’une boule et une croix en fer blanc.
Erigé en 1863 par Joseph Théodule Jond, cet oratoire de type guérite contient une statue de la Saint Famille en bois doré.
The only one of its kind in the Rhône-Alpes, Le Châtelet’s mule stud farm continues an ancient Val d’Arly tradition that has been administered since 1894 by the Syndicat d'Elevage Mulassier du Val d'Arly (local mule breeding union).
Egalement dénommé «Oratoire des Critobles», cet oratoire est couvert par un toit à 4 pans en zinc surmonté d’une croix en fer forgé, avec au centre les lettres P&B : à droite un petit bénitier en pierre.
The "château" de Charbonnière is a fortified house dating from at least the 16th C. Burned during the Revolution, the only parts of its former exterior remaining are the large living quarters and one of the four elegant turrets that once adorned it.
Sunday 06 octobre 2019 at 10H
Coopérative Fruitière en Val d'Arly Savoie Mont Blanc was born 50 years ago, and invites you to come and celebrate this anniversary during the Concours de la Race Abondance du Val d'Arly, the Festival of breeders of the territory!
Exhibition space of the local area, mountain agriculture and the local AOP products. Experience life in the Val d'Arly through the film "Carnet de Voyage" and then enjoy tastings of our local produce. Open daily, year round, from 8.30 am to 7.30 pm (unguided visit) - guided tours can be booked.
After a mountain walk, come and relax by the side of this peaceful little lake surrounded by fir trees.
Saint Théodule church in Flumet was rebuilt in 1682 after the the original 13th C church was destroyed by fire Particularly noteworthy because of its belltower in the shape of a medieval tower, its unusual design, rich furnishings and baroque altars.
Mont Charvin (2407 m) is one of the main peaks of the Aravis mountain range and is recognisable by its pyramid shape and steep rock face. This is maybe the reason for its name: Charvin means exposed summit (“charve” is patois for “chauve” meaning bald).
Flumet’s hanging houses, with their foundations built into the actual rock, overlook the river Arly 40m below. The only one of its kind in Savoie, this architectural group of buildings is most unusual, with breathtaking, dizzying views.
The Maison De Bieu, standing on the edge of the village, is a 15th C fortified house with a distinctive square tower adjacent to the living area. Long-time home to the De Bieu family, it is Flumet’s last maintained and inhabited “château”.
Saint Nicolas-la-Chapelle church, dedicated to the saint of the same name, dates from the 18th C. The baroque building is notable because of its belltower with double light turret, sculpted porch, murals and canopied main altar – unique in Savoie.
The chapel was established in the 17th century by the Fabry family, under the patronage of Our Lady of the Rosary and then endowed in 1669. The ruins were rebuilt around 1855 by the Dumax-Baudron family and dedicated to the Immaculate Conception.
Oratoire de type guérite crépi gris au toit à 4 pans couvert de tôle avec une croix de métal au sommet.
Oratoire de type guérite grande voûte plein cintre; niche en retrait à l’encadrement genre marbre gris avec, au sommet, la date 1850 et protégée par une belle grille en fer forgé.
The local parish church was hard to reach on foot from the hamlet of Chaucisse, especially during the winter. In 1818, thanks to a gift from one of the village’s “expatriates”, a chapel was built that later became the parish church (1828 to the 1960s).
As part of the fully restored mill, come and discover Flumet's life through the museum space: exhibition of photos, objects of traditional life and old costumes. A restaurant allows you to enjoy a woodcutter's soup.
From 6 years
Let yourself be guided during a visit of our digital museum and an introduction to the making of Reblochon (white Tomme) - which will end with a friendly tasting of our cheeses made in our workshops.