Presentation

A Beating heart

Located right in the heart of Val d’Arly, this village resort has the feel of a typical little mountain community, where local people and visitors happily mingle in the lively, beating village centre. Fans of culture and traditional everyday life are spoilt for choice: medieval church, pretty little streets, local specialities… and some breath-taking panoramic views too, all under the protective eye of Mont-Blanc.

Flumet / St Nicolas La Chapelle

Accommodations

Shops and Services

Shops
Health Services
Transports
Other services
Craftmen
Producers

Heritage

"Le Gâteau" - Panoramic views

Magnificent panorama of the stations of the Val d'Arly, "Croix Cartier", "Le Croisse-Baulet", "Le Mont-Blanc"... A viewpoint is available to help you locate the various summits.

Notre Dame de Lourdes – Le Char Oratory

Oratoire de type guérite crépi gris au toit à 4 pans couvert de tôle avec une croix de métal au sommet.

Les côtes oratory

Oratoire de type guérite, crépi blanc, au toit à 4 pans couvert de tôle et surmonté d’une boule et une croix en fer blanc.

Chapelle du Passieu

Passieu chapel was established in the 18th century at the initiative of the parish priest. Blessed in 1747, it was placed under the patronage of St Sébastin, St Antoine and St Guérin. Restored in 1975.

De Bieu Fortified house

The Maison De Bieu, standing on the edge of the village, is a 15th C fortified house with a distinctive square tower adjacent to the living area. Long-time home to the De Bieu family, it is Flumet’s last maintained and inhabited “château”.

Learn about the secrets of Reblochon

Let yourself be guided during a visit of our museum space and an introduction to the making of Reblochon (white Tomme) - which will end with a friendly tasting of our cheeses made in our workshops.

Mill in Tienne and Miller's house

Established within a mill which has been completely renovated (summer), come and discover Flumet's daily life via this museum : photos, traditional household objects, old costumes (winter and summer) and a little cafe (winter).

Immaculate Conception Oratory

Bâtiment massif en crépi blanc, au toit à 4 pans recouvert de tôle et surmonté d’une croix en fer forgé, a été érigé en 1866. Un petit bénitier a été placé à droite d’une niche en retrait protégée par une grille en fer forgé : « CMF 1867 ».

Our Lady of Pity Oratory

Bloc de granit, surmonté d’un chapiteau du même matériau et, pour le toit, 2 blocs triangulaires en pierre avec au sommet une croix en fer forgé ouvragée ; niche creusée dans la pierre protégée par une vitre et par une grille en fer forgé.

Discover the mountain agriculture at the Coopérative

A convivial moment where you will discover the mountain agriculture and our know-how cheese which will end with a tasting of our cheese made in Flumet.

Les anciens vous racontent la Coop

Les anciens vous racontent la Coop, venez profiter du savoir-faire et l'expérience des anciens de la Coop. Tradition et dégustation au RDV !

Chapelle du Seytenex

The chapel was established in the 17th century by the Fabry family, under the patronage of Our Lady of the Rosary and then endowed in 1669. The ruins were rebuilt around 1855 by the Dumax-Baudron family and dedicated to the Immaculate Conception.

Le Châtelet mule stud farm

The only one of its kind in the Rhône-Alpes, Le Châtelet’s mule stud farm continues an ancient Val d’Arly tradition that has been administered since 1894 by the Syndicat d'Elevage Mulassier du Val d'Arly (local mule breeding union).

L'Etale

This compact mountain summit is, despite its appearance, higher than Le Charvin (2484 m). With its many cliff faces, it is more difficult to climb but is bursting with genepi plants…

Our Lady of Lourdes oratory - Critobles oratory

Egalement dénommé «Oratoire des Critobles», cet oratoire est couvert par un toit à 4 pans en zinc surmonté d’une croix en fer forgé, avec au centre les lettres P&B : à droite un petit bénitier en pierre.

Château des Faucigny

The Château des Faucigny, fortified in the 12th century, is now a ruin. However, the building was once of great architectural and historical value and was part of the original development of Flumet.

Abymes bridge

The Abymes bridge connects Flumet with Notre-Dame-de-Bellecombe. Interesting not only for its architecture, the bridge offers stunning views over the river Arly situated 32m below, the T’ienne mill and hanging houses.

Hanging houses – Panoramic view

Flumet’s hanging houses, with their foundations built into the actual rock, overlook the river Arly 40m below. The only one of its kind in Savoie, this architectural group of buildings is most unusual, with breathtaking, dizzying views.

Our Lady of Bonnefontaine Oratory

Oratoire de type guérite grande voûte plein cintre; niche en retrait à l’encadrement genre marbre gris avec, au sommet, la date 1850 et protégée par une belle grille en fer forgé.

Discover our mountain-how

Free visit throughout the year, 7days / 7 of the area dedicated to our Val d'Arly territory, mountain farming and the manufacture of our cheeses: Reblochon, Beaufort...