Passieu chapel was established in the 18th century at the initiative of the parish priest. Blessed in 1747, it was placed under the patronage of St Sébastin, St Antoine and St Guérin. Restored in 1975.
Bloc de granit, surmonté d’un chapiteau du même matériau et, pour le toit, 2 blocs triangulaires en pierre avec au sommet une croix en fer forgé ouvragée ; niche creusée dans la pierre protégée par une vitre et par une grille en fer forgé.
The Roman boundary marker at the Jaillet pass is one of Val d'Arly's rarest ancient remains. Together with the markers of the Petit Croisse Baulet and L'Avenaz, they offer the excuse for a themed walk open to good walkers (7 hrs walking).
The chapel was established in the 17th century by the Fabry family, under the patronage of Our Lady of the Rosary and then endowed in 1669. The ruins were rebuilt around 1855 by the Dumax-Baudron family and dedicated to the Immaculate Conception.
Flumet’s hanging houses, with their foundations built into the actual rock, overlook the river Arly 40m below. The only one of its kind in Savoie, this architectural group of buildings is most unusual, with breathtaking, dizzying views.
Little chapel located at the place known as L'Abbaye and which is part of the Oratory and Cross itinerary.
From 5 years
Come and visit Ainoz watermill, living testimony of Crest-Voland Cohennoz's history. Ghislaine and Patrick will reveal to you the secrets of this one of a kind building that used to be a watermill but also a flourishing manufacturer of wooden handles.
The Roman boundary marker of l'Avenaz is one of the Val d'Arly's ancient remains. An excuse for good walkers to discover this and the other two Roman boundary markers - Le Jaillet and the Petit Croisse-Baulet (7 hrs walk).
The Maison De Bieu, standing on the edge of the village, is a 15th C fortified house with a distinctive square tower adjacent to the living area. Long-time home to the De Bieu family, it is Flumet’s last maintained and inhabited “château”.
Erigé en 1863 par Joseph Théodule Jond, cet oratoire de type guérite contient une statue de la Saint Famille en bois doré.
From 3 years
Once upon a time... the House of Fairy Tales... A magical and unusual museum with animated playlets and characters, brought to life using light effects while stories are told in enchanting settings... for the delight of young and old alike!
Oratoire de type guérite grande voûte plein cintre; niche en retrait à l’encadrement genre marbre gris avec, au sommet, la date 1850 et protégée par une belle grille en fer forgé.
The Petit Croisse-Baulet Roman boundary marker is one of Val d’Arly’s ancient remains. An ideal excuse for good walkers to explore this together with the other two markers of Le Jaillet and L’Avenaz (7 hrs walking).
The Oratoire des Clapières is the only wayside cross to have escaped the destruction of the Revolution : it is the oldest in Val d’Arly. Situated on the Route des Chalets, its name comes from “clapier” meaning pile of stone.
Oratoire de type guérite, crépi blanc au toit à 4 pans couvert de tôle avec croix métal au sommet.
The Château des Faucigny, fortified in the 12th century, is now a ruin. However, the building was once of great architectural and historical value and was part of the original development of Flumet.
Display of traditional Savoie costumes, a woodwork workshop and a snow themed exhibition: skis, sledges, bob sleighs. Possibility of visit during village tour on Friday mornings.
As part of the fully restored mill, come and discover Flumet's life through the museum space: exhibition of photos, objects of traditional life and old costumes. A restaurant allows you to enjoy a woodcutter's soup.
Self-guided tour of this little church which houses a magnificent canopy.
The local parish church was hard to reach on foot from the hamlet of Chaucisse, especially during the winter. In 1818, thanks to a gift from one of the village’s “expatriates”, a chapel was built that later became the parish church (1828 to the 1960s).